The Design Observer Group

Posted 02.02.11

Places Editors

Great Places Awards Entries Due February 11

The Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) is now accepting submissions for the 13th Annual Great Places Awards for Place Design, Planning and Research.

The Great Places Awards recognize professional and scholarly excellence in environmental design. Entries are welcome from a range of design and research disciplines, including architecture, landscape architecture, planning, urban design, interior design, lighting design, graphic design, environmental psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography and the physical sciences. Projects should emphasize a link between research and practice, demonstrating how an understanding of human interaction with place can inspire design.

A panel of jurors will select winners from four categories: place design, place planning, place research and a book prize. This year’s jurors include: Leon Bridges, FAIA, AIA , Lecturer, Architecture, School of Architecture and Planning, Morgan State University; Sidney N. Brower, Professor, Urban Studies and Planning, School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, University of Maryland; Mark Cameron, Executive Director, Neighborhood Design Center; Carol Macht, ASLA, Senior Principal, Hord Coplan Macht; Glenn LaRue Smith, Assistant Professor, Graduate Landscape Architecture Department, School of Architecture and Planning, Morgan State University; and Patricia Zingsheim, AIA, CPM, Associate Director of Revitalization and Design, D.C. Office of Planning.

Places is a media sponsor for the 2011 Great Places Awards. Download submission guidelines, rules and entry form in pdf format, or visit the EDRA website.

All entries must be received by February 11, 2011.